Skip to main content

News and Events

Awards & Certifications


Each year GGFOA recognizes outstanding members of the organization. The following award recipients were honored at GGFOA’s most recent annual conference.

President's Award For Outstanding Service

Created in 1988, the President’s Award recognizes one member annually for leadership in and contribution to the GGFOA.
2017 – 2018 recipient: Jennifer Fricks, City of Social Circle

Service Award

Since 1994, the Service Award has been presented to a member in recognition of his or her spirit of volunteerism in promoting the purpose of GGFOA.
2017 – 2018 recipient: Linda Cook, Putnam County

2018 scholarship recipients

Jim Perhson Conference Scholarship:
  • Donna Todd, Putnam County
  • Sherri Bailey, City of Washington
Certificate in Public Financial Management (CPFM) Scholarship:
  • Elizabeth Barfield, Columbus Consolidated Government
Annual College Scholarship:
  • Jessica Hudson, DeKalb County Government
Level 1 Certified Finance Officer Scholarship:
  • Cynthia Strozier, City of Tucker
  • Rashonda Favors, City of Stockbridge
  • Ella Fast, City of Sky Valley

Finance Officer Certification

Local government officials hailing from Georgia communities both large and small attained their Certified Financial Officer status. Congratulations to those who attained either their Level I or Level II Certificate. Follow the link to the CVIOG website to learn more about this great program for government officials.

LEVEL I Completions:

2/7/2017 Ashley Taylor, Accounting Manager, City of Douglasville

2/9/2017 Alisha Gamble, Finance Director, City of Flowery Branch

3/5/2017 Taryn Roberson, Administrative Assistant, Randolph County Board of Commissioners

3/10/2017 Beverly Pullian, Accounts Payable, City of Royston

3/13/2017 Mechelle Champion, Senior Accountant, City of Dalton

5/18/2017 Temeeka Denson, Accounting Supervisor, DeKalb County Government

5/18/2017 Sonya Isaac, Executive Administrator, City of Norcross

5/26/2017 Jennifer Fricks, Accounting Technician, Putnam County Board of Commissioners

5/26/2017 Natasha Howard, Accounts Payable, Pickens County Government

6/15/2017 Nekisha Baker, Accounting Manager, City of Riverdale

7/27/2017 Ashley Simpson, Assistant Research & Budget Director, City of Savannah

7/28/2017 Melissa Carter, Budget Director, City of Savannah

8/10/2017 Angie Bennett, ERP Coordinator, Clayton County Water Authority

8/10/2017 Connie Bowen, Budget Officer, Clayton County Water Authority

8/22/2017 Marion Reader, Business Manager, Gwinnett County Government

8/22/2017 Hope Weeks, Senior Accountant, Jackson County Water and Sewage Authority

8/31/2017 Sage Glanton, Financial Manager, City of Atlanta

8/31/2017 Tracey Hudson, Financial Administrator, City of Cochran

9/4/2017 Rebecca Whitmire, Finance Director, Forsyth County Government

9/15/2017 Rebekah Reddish, Director of Administrative Services, City of Port Wentworth

9/20/2017 Michelle Collings, Accounting Supervisor, City of Marietta

9/26/2017 Sheryl Bowman, Bookkeeper, Bibb County Superior Court Clerk's Office

9/26/2017 Wanda Smith, Fixed Asset Accountant, Forsyth County Board of Commissioners

10/19/2017 BobbyChesnutt, Finance Officer, Oconee County Board of Commisioners

10/19/2017 Linda Rahn, Finance Officer, City of Rincon

12/13/2017 Sharon Smith, Administrative Specialist, DeKalb County Government

1/8/2018 Christin Kooti, Accounting Administrator, Athens-Clarke County Government

1/17/2018 Bryan Lavoie, Major, Albany Police Department

1/21/2018 Lisa Thurmond, Budget Analyst, Athens-Clarke County Government

1/25/2018 Takeashi Price,Senior Accountant, City of Albany

4/18/2018 Jamie Bambarger, Business Officer, Gwinnett County Police Department

4/18/2018 Travis Cherry, Administrative Operations Manager, DeKalb County Government

4/18/2018 Tina Dones, Business Officer, Gwinnett County Police Department

4/18/2018 Bethanie Edwards, Staff Accountant, Newton County Board of Commissioners

4/18/2018 Heidi Hook, Finance Director, Habersham County

4/18/2018 Brittany White, Staff Accountant, Newton County Board of Commissioners

4/26/2018 Sandy LeMay, Senior Accounting Analyst, City of Albany

5/1/2018 Rebecca Watkins, Accountant, Cobb County-Marietta Water Authority

5/4/2018 Maria Spears, Financial Services Manager, Chatham County Government

5/10/2018 Kim Hallstein, Accountant, City of Tybee Island

5/25/2018 Denise Mitchell, Division Director, Gwinnett County Tax Commissioner

6/22/2018 Miranda McDowell, Manager, Pickens County Sheriffs Office

7/27/2018 Vicki Wainwright, City ClerkCity of Butler

8/17/2018 Joe Perez, Principal Accountant, City of Lawrenceville

LEVEL II Completions:

3/17/2017 Deirdre Diggs, Financial Analyst II, Gwinnett County Government

4/11/2017 Traci Bussey, Finance Director, Lincoln County Board of Commissioners

5/8/2017 Taryn Roberson, Finance Director, Randolph County Board of Commissioners

5/23/2017 Danielle Ballard, Purchasing Agent, City of Fayetteville

7/5/2017 Patrick Kirkpatrick, Assistant Finance Director, Walton County Board of Commissioners

7/19/2017 Tammie Martin, Business Officer, Gwinnett County Department of

7/31/2017 Dante Braddy, Accounting Technician, City of Perry

8/11/2017 Melody Barnes, Accounts Payables, City of Fairburn

8/21/2017 Anna Payne, Financial Analyst II, Gwinnett County Government

9/1/2017 Shona Rollins, Accounting Technician Senior, DeKalb County Government

9/25/2017 Shaquita Barnes, Budget Analyst, Atlanta Public Schools

10/3/2017 Paula Granger, County Manager, Seminole County

10/5/2017 Rebecca Harden, Finance-HR Coordinator, Charlton County Government

10/6/2017 Amy Orebaugh, Finance Director, City of Cedartown

10/31/2017 Robin McKnight, Accounting Technician Senior, DeKalb County Government

11/6/2017 Becky Bohannon, Finance Director, City of Toccoa

12/15/2017 Lisa Weth, Staff Accountant, McIntosh County Board of Commissioners

12/22/2017 Jacqueline Pryor, Finance Clerk, City of Hiram

1/24/2018 Jodi Ligon, Finance Director, White County Commissioners

1/24/2018 Trey Wood, Finance Director, Jackson County Board of Commissioners

1/31/2018 Vita Dotson, Financial Analyst II, Gwinnett County Government

2/8/2018 Lisa Lawhorn, Accountant, City of Winder

2/20/2018 Sonya Isaac, Executive Administrator, City of Norcross

2/21/2018 Steve Barnette, CFO, Paulding County School District

3/19/2018 Brian Yen, Financial Analyst II, Gwinnett County Government

4/13/2018 Karine Brooms, Senior Accountant, City of Dunwoody

5/1/2018 Linda Rahn, Finance Officer, City of Rincon